2010 Year in Review

I’ll start by letting you know that I don’t consider myself much of a writer, let alone a blogger. However, I finally decided to give it a try after a few desperate pleas from my marketing director. In all seriousness, when Joe approached me about writing for the company blog my mind instantly went to looking back over 2010 as it truly was a great year for our company! This year was so exciting that I’ll have to try to be disciplined in just sharing a few noteworthy accomplishments.

On February 1st, 2010, Sight & Sound Productions purchased Mugwump Productions in the largest acquisition of our 23 years! Mugwump is one of if not the largest and most respected themed décor and prop companies in Jacksonville and we’re excited about all of the new opportunities this purchase has brought our way. We were able to maintain the entire Mugwump team while improving the company from operational and sales standpoints. I really feel that we’ve positioned Mugwump for continued growth in 2011!

Technically, we were excited to experience some new things this year but there is one accomplishment in particular that stands out the most. In June, we were able to partner with Pixelution out of the UK to bring 3D imagery and 5.1 digital surround sound to a valued client’s quarterly meeting! With Pixelution shipping us the software, image filters and a specialty, textured projection screen, we were able to use our equipment and technical staff to do something that no other company in Jacksonville had done before. The meeting was a tremendous success and really spoke to the knowledge and professionalism of my team.

I am also excited to share that despite a down economy and working within the slumping hospitality industry, we were able to dramatically improve our 2010 numbers by approximately 11% over 2009’s figures. Knowing that many companies like ours are losing money or failing completely, I am truly grateful that we had a profitable year and I have to thank my outstanding team for all of their efforts.

As the owner of a thriving Jacksonville company, I feel it’s important to give something back to our community when possible. This year, we were able to do more work with community and non-profit organizations than ever before. There sure are a lot of worthy causes and I truly wish we could help them all, but I was proud that we stepped up as a team to work with some new groups this year. The National MS Society of North Florida, Susan G. Komen for the Cure North Florida, the Sulzbacher Center, the Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens and the Tom Coughlin Jay Fund Foundation are just a few of the great non-profits we were able to help in 2010. It is part of our mission to continue recognizing the importance of giving back to the community that supports us and we’ve already got some great new work in this area slated for 2011!

Having already written too much, I’ll close with this. As excited as I truly am about all that’s happened for the Sight & Sound family of companies in 2010, I’m even more excited about our positioning for 2011. We’re conservatively forecasting a year of tremendous growth and I can’t wait for more new clients to experience the difference of working with a company that focuses on quality service and flawless execution the way we do. Get ready to see a lot of more Sight & Sound Productions Jacksonville! Thank you all for your continued support and I wish you all a Happy New Year!

Check us out on Facebook for the latest and greatest Sight & Sound news!

Jon Davis

President & Owner

The Sight & Sound Productions family of Companies

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:sightandsoundproductions

Leading Jacksonville for over 20 years in professional event production.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

